Ecocide as a crime at the International Criminal Court in the Hague is increasingly discussed as a necessary development of international law. How would it help the Convention on Biodiversity to reach its targets and vision of living in harmony with Nature by 2050?

Video from webinar 10 December:

There is growing state support for the move to make ecocide an international crime: last December the small island states of Vanuatu and the Maldives called for serious consideration of ecocide crime at the International Criminal Court’s assembly; earlier this year the Swedish workers movement urged Sweden to lead on proposing it; in June President Macron of France promised to champion it on the international stage.  Pope Francis has also stated that he believes ecocide should be added to the list of international crimes.

A panel of top legal experts have just gathered to draft a definition of ecocide: https://www.stopecocide.earth/press-releases-summary/top-international-lawyers-to-draft-definition-of-ecocide

Speakers:

Rebecka Le Moine MP, Green Party in the Swedish Parliament and founding member of the Ecocide Alliance
Eleanor Sharpston, QC, advocate general at the Court of Justice of the European Union from 2006 to 2020
Pella Thiel, chairperson End Ecocide Sweden and expert in the UN Harmony with Nature Programme
Moderator: Hanna Wetterstrand, Time to Think facilitator.

When: December 10 4-5 PM CET
(IST 20.30 pm, BRT 12.00 pm, PST 7.00 am, EST 10.00 am)
Where: Online using Zoom. Register here

ACT: INCLUDE RIGHTS OF NATURE IN THE CONVENTION ON BIODIVERSITY
Send a postcard to your national representatives in the CBD. Find them here.

More on Rights of Nature in the Convention on Biodiversity

Webinar held by Rights of Nature Sweden, Earth Advocacy Youth, Earth Law Center, Rights of Mother Earth and CBD Alliance.

http://www.naturensrattigheter.se/
CBD Alliance
Advocacy
Earth Law Center